UMass RCMC Team Takes 11th Place at International Builders Show

UMass RCMC Team Takes 11th Place at International Builders Show

BCT's National Association of Home Builders (NAHB) student chapter worked relentlessly through the 2017 Fall semester on their submission of the Residential Construction Management Competition (RCMC) proposal. The 26-student team broke top 11 out of 35 schools in this national competition, after presenting their project at the International Builders Show (IBS) in Orlando, FL. Each year, the NAHB holds the RCMC competition, in which 2-year and 4-year college teams are given an open-ended problem statement that serves the basis of their proposal and presentation at the International Builders Show. This year’s problem statement offered a 7-lot site in Okemos, MI of which teams had to develop and assess the feasible profitability. The team decided to develop 151 houses and declared that the project would ultimately be profitable. The proposal included sections on market analysis, sales, project management, sustainability, design, finance, and estimating. The UMass team consisted of architecture, BCT, civil, real estate, and marketing majors, and each student brought unique strengths to...
Read More
Bring your Resumes! BCT is Hosting Fall Job Fair on October 20th

Bring your Resumes! BCT is Hosting Fall Job Fair on October 20th

The Building and Construction Technology program and our NAHB* student group are organizing a job fair for the first time in fall 2017 for jobs in construction, project management, green building, materials, building systems, and related fields. This job fair is free and open to all UMass Students. Just dress up, bring your resumes and come to the Design Building! *National Association of Home Builders By the way: After the job fair, stay for the BCT alumni party (RSVP here)! Company Exhibitor List (updated: 10/10) All States Materials Group asmg.com Aspen Square Management www.aspensquare.com Boise Cascade www.bc.com Center for EcoTechnology www.cetonline.org CLEAResult www.clearesult.com Consigli Construction careers.consigli.com Cowls Building Supply, Inc. cowlsbuildingsupply.com Crown Castle www.crowncastle.com Dimeo Construction Company www.dimeo.com Ed Herrington, Inc. www.herringtons.com Gaston Electrical gastonelectrical.com Gilbane Building Company www.gilbaneco.com Hill International Inc. www.Hillintl.com HireElements / A.W. Hastings hireelements.com Lee Kennedy Co., Inc. www.leekennedy.com Mid-Cape Home Centers www.midcape.net National Lumber www.national-lumber.com Rex Lumber Co. rexlumber.com Sanford and Hawley Inc. sanhaw.com The Whiting-Turner Contracting Co www.whiting-turner.com Trimble www.trimble.com Turner Construction turnerconstruction.com Walsh Brothers, Inc. www.walshbrothers.com Wayne J. Griffin Electric, Inc. www.waynejgriffinelectric.com Wolf Home Products www.wolfhomeproducts.com Employers: Interested in exhibiting at this fair? We may still have space. Register here! Reposted from: https://bct.eco.umass.edu/news/bring-resumes-bct-hosting-fall-job-fair-october-20th/...
Read More