Physical Sciences Building

State of the College community gathering celebrates new faces, initiatives

This fall, the College of Natural Sciences (CNS) welcomed 69 new faculty and nine new staff members to its 15 departments and schools. Some are brand-new to the university, and some are assuming new roles.

The State of the College event on September 16 gives new and returning members of the college community an opportunity to celebrate recent achievements, to hear from the Dean about collective goals and initiatives for the current academic year and beyond, and to share food, drink, and social time with colleagues. All staff, faculty, postdocs, and graduate students are invited to attend. 

New faculty and staff are also invited to have their portraits made by filling out this project request form.

The 747 faculty members at CNS teach 7,450 undergraduate students and 983 graduate students, with over 600 staff members working to keep everything running smoothly for 33 bachelor’s degree programs, 39 different masters and PhD programs, and associate degrees in six areas.  
We’re so pleased to have the diverse perspectives and skills of these new additions to our sprawling natural sciences community, a hub of research and learning. 

CNS Leadership

Brooke Weisenbeck, Assistant Dean for Advancement


CNS Deans Office

Diane Barstow, Director of Development​

Trevor Graham, Director of Finance​

Sarah Howard, Human Resources Assistant​

Lori Shine, Communications Manager​

Joy Ward, Grant Coordinator


Advising Center

Erin Cherewatti, Assistant Director for Career and Professional Development​

Cynthia Roche, CNS Advising Center Office Manager​

Joe Van Allen, Assistant Director for Career and Professional Development 



David Frey, IT/Computing Manager​

Cara Iacoponi, Departmental Assistant​

Katherine Whitaker, Assistant Professor


Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Virginia McLaurin, Academic Advisor​

Elizabeth Mearls, Lecturer​

Pa Tamba Ngom, Manager of Laboratory Instruction



Bill Butman, Human Resources Manager​

Emily Fleming, Academic Advisor​

Sarah Pallas, Associate Professor​

Robert J. (“R.J.”) Pause, Technical Assistant III​

Jessica Rocheleau, Lecturer​

Blake Russo, Financial Manager​

Kurt Schellenberg, Technical Assistant III​

Andrew Spracklen, Lecturer​

Drew Stephens, Assistant Professor​

Amanda Woerman, Assistant Professor



Joseph DuChene, Assistant Professor​

Chandra Hardy, Graduate Program Manager

Brian Lochner, Clerk III ​

Sovann-Malis Loeung, Program Coordinator for CBI and BTP  ​

Laura Sedberry, Clerk III​

James Walsh, Assistant Professor​


Environmental Conservation

Malcolm Itter, Assistant Professor​

Evan Janes, Shop and Facilities Manager​

Meghan Graham MacLean, Lecturer​

Michael Nelson, Lecturer​

Fernando Romero, Lecturer​


Food Science

Jiakai Lu, Assistant Professor



Seda Şalap Ayça, Assistant Professor​

Christopher Stanavage, Departmental Accounts Manager​

Steven J. Turner, Research Assistant Professor


Mathematics and Statistics

Rachel Aronow, Departmental Assistant for IT

Sarah-Marie Belcastro, Lecturer​

Cynthia Cabrera, Lecturer​

Garret Cahill, Lecturer​

Elizabeth Clark, Lecturer​

Maria Correia, Lecturer​

Mario DeFranco, Lecturer​

Patrick Dragon, Lecturer​

Maryclare Griffin, Assistant Professor

Andrew Havens, Lecturer​

Eric Knyt, Lecturer ​

Liming Liu, Assistant to Head and Associate Head

Haben Michael, Assistant Professor​

Terry Mullen, Departmental Assistant​

Peter Olszewski, Lecturer​

Leili Shahriyari, Assistant Professor​

Ted Westling, Assistant Professor​

Mark Wilson, Visiting Assistant Professor​



Verena Carvalho, Lecturer



David Frey, Physics/Astronomy IT Manager​

Manasa Kandula, Assistant Professor​

Krishna Kumar, Gluckstern Chair Professor


Polymer Science and Engineering

Faculty and staff unchanged. Read the latest news from the program.


Psychological and Brain Sciences

Carolyn Davies, Lecturer​

Maria Galano, Assistant Professor​

Ilia Karatsoreos, Associate Professor​


Stockbridge School of Agriculture

Ashley Keiser, Assistant Professor  


Veterinary and Animal Sciences

Amy Rubin Harris, Director, BS in Veterinary Technology​

Jillian Smith, Lecturer​

Cassandra Uricchio, Senior Lecturer​


Read on:
Latest CNS news
Find your colleagues with UMass People Finder


Source: Environmental Conservation News