Subscribe to ECo News  |  Sitemap  |

Water, Wetlands, and Watersheds

Concentration Description: This concentration leads to both Master of Science (MS) and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degrees in Environmental Conservation (ECo) and is designed for students who want scientific training in the multi disciplinary field of water, wetlands and watershed conservation. The focus of this concentration is broadly on water resources but encompasses specialized training in fields such as wetlands, hydrology, nonpoint source pollution, modeling, ecosystems, water resource management, watershed sciences, economics, climatic impacts, and policy. There are many options for specialized training within this concentration. For example, students may choose to specialize in wetlands, where they will gain an understanding of wetland ecology, including hydrology, soils, plants, and wildlife; field methods for wetland delineation and functional assessment; and public policy relating to state and federal wetland regulatory programs. Or, for example, students may choose to specialize in watershed science and management, where they will gain an understanding of the science underlying a watershed system and develop technical skills in integrated watershed management; more specifically, they will develop a strong understanding of a watershed and its relationship to natural resources and economic issues, and they will gain insights into how the various components of land cover, hydrology, terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems, socioeconomic processes, pollutant transfer, institutions, communities, and economic growth interact at a watershed scale.

Coursework and more detailed information

Graduate Concentration Coordinator:
Timothy O. Randhir
University of Massachusetts
Dept. of Environmental Conservation
160 Holdsworth Way Amherst, MA 01003-9285
Tel: 413-545-3969
Fax: 413-545-4358
Email: randhir@eco.umass.edu

 

Principal Faculty Affiliates:

  • Paul Barten (pkbarten@eco.umass.edu)
  • Bethany Bradley (bbradley@eco.umass.edu)
  • Andy Danylchuk (danylchuk@eco.umass.edu)
  • John Finn (finn@eco.umass.edu)
  • Curtice Griffin (cgriffin@eco.umass.edu)
  • Alexander Haro (haro@usgs.gov)
  • Craig Nicolson (craign@eco.umass.edu)

Updated: August 12, 2014